Old First Concerts
FRIDAY, MARCH 8, 2013 AT 8:00PM

Melodiya Chamber Ensemble
Sergey Rakitchenkov, viola; Arkadi Serper, piano
Nino Rota Intermezzo
Béla Bartók Two Slavic Dances
Sergei Prokofiev Tales of the Old Grandmother and Devilish Suggestion
Robert Schumann Fair Tale Pictures
Feodor Druzhinin Variations for viola solo
Franz Schubert Sonata for Viola and Piano (Arpeggione)

Sergey Rakitchenkov and Arkady Serper are both graduates of the Moscow Tchaikovsky Conservatory who began their distinguished careers in the major concert halls of Europe and Russia before immigrating to the United States. Rakitchenkov is a long-standing member of the San Francisco Opera Orchestra, Serper a prominent pianist, composer, and faculty member at the Crowden School. Their performances are well known for a colorful, literate style, as well as an exacting technical precision.

Performance Permalink