Old First Concerts
FRIDAY, OCTOBER 26, 2012 AT 9:00PM

Jason Cutmore
Jason Cutmore, piano
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Sonata in C major, K. 330
Manuel de Falla selections from El amor brujo
Déodat de Séverac Cerdaña (Cinq etudes pittoresque pour le piano)
Isaac Albéniz Preludio and Navarra

This recital program offers audiences canonical favorites in the first half in contrast to the lesser-known works—sure to be happy discoveries for those hearing the Séverac and Albéniz for the first time—in the second half. Beginning with themes of typically Mozartian child-like innocence and joy, and culminating in Albéniz’s triumphant bombast, the program’s emotional intensity builds towards the middle of the recital, reaching climaxes in de Falla's suite of Andalusian dances El amor brujo, and Séverac’s moving lament on the crucifixion in the fourth piece of Cerdaña.

Performance Permalink