Old First Concerts
Media Resources.
Click on the thumbnail to download a 300dpi photo. Click here to go back to the list of media resources.

John Ferguson
Friday August 6, 2010 at 1:00PM

John Ferguson, piano
Caption: John Ferguson
Photo Credit: Photo courtsey of the artist

Performance Description:
John Ferguson’s performances have been praised for their “proselytizing zeal—along with fleet fingers, power, and fine dynamic control” (Boston Globe) and “impressive qualities of pianistic brilliance, strength, intellect and sensitivity” (Sacramento Bee). Ferguson has performed solo recitals in major cities throughout the US, featuring some of the most demanding and epic works in the piano literature: Bach’s Art of Fugue, Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony (arr. Liszt) and Rzewski’s The People United Will Never be Defeated. This season Ferguson performs Beethoven’s monumental and sublime Hammerklavier Sonata Op. 106, a work which Beethoven predicted would be played by pianists “fifty years hence”. Nearly two hundred years after its composition, it is considered one of his greatest works and the most difficult of all piano sonatas. Opening the program—a perfect complement to the Hammerklavier—is Beethoven’s youthful and serene Pastoral Sonata Op. 28.

Performance Permalink